

NECPUC 77th Symposium Agenda – PLELIMINARY, SUBJECT TO CHANGE

Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa, Groton, CT May 18-20, 2025

Panel abstracts and additional panelists forthcoming.

Panelists listed in alphabetical order.

Sunday, May 18

3:00-6:00 p.m. Registration Desk Open

5:45 p.m. *Pre-Dinner Reception*

Sponsored by Pierce Atwood LLP, Womble Bond Dickinson LLP, and Day Pitney LLP

7:00 p.m. *Dinner*

8:00 p.m. Dessert Reception

Sponsored by Hewitt & Hewitt, National Association of Water Companies, and Nuclear Energy Institute

Monday, May 19

7:00 a.m. **Breakfast**

7:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Registration Desk Open

9:00 a.m. Symposium Opens
Hon. Marissa Paslick Gillett, Chairman, Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority, NECPUC President
 9:15 a.m. Remarks: Hon. Judy Chang, Commissioner, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Moderator: Hon. Marissa Paslick Gillett, Chairman, Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority

10:00 a.m. **Break**

Sponsored by Pullman & Comley, LLC and Connecticut Power & Energy Society

10:30 a.m. *Plenary Session*

Electric Rates and Affordability: Breaking it Down and Adding it Up

Moderator: Hon. Ronald T. Gerwatowski, Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission

Panelists:

• Jamie Dickerson, Senior Director, Clean Energy and Climate Programs, Acadia Center

- Dan Dolan, President, New England Power Generators Association
- Doug Horton, Vice President, Distribution Rates & Regulatory Requirements, Eversource Energy
- Maggie Molina, Executive Director, Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships

11:45 a.m. Remarks from Charles Dickerson, President and CEO, Northeast Power Coordinating Council

12:00 p.m. *Lunch*

12:00 p.m. Concurrent lunch for NECPUC Retail Demand Response and Load Flexibility Working Group

1:00-4:00 p.m. Registration Desk Open

1:15 p.m. Concurrent Sessions

The RPS in New England After 25 Years: Just Getting Started, or Time for Something Different?

Moderator: Hon. Patrick Scully, Commissioner, Maine Public Utilities Commission

Panelists:

- Ben Griffiths, Vice President, Wholesale Market Policy, LS Power
- **Arne Olson**, Senior Partner, Energy + Environmental Economics (E3)

- Hon. Ann Rendahl, Commissioner, Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
- Kathleen Spees, Principal, Brattle Group

Natural Gas Future Pathways

Moderator: Hon. Michael A. Caron, Commissioner, Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority

Panelists:

- Zeyneb Magavi, Executive Director, Home Energy Efficiency Team (HEET)
- Matt Nelson, Principal, Apex Analytics
- Cynthia Niemeyer, Policy Advisor, Natural Gas Markets, American Petroleum Institute
- Scott Reed, Vice President, Regulatory & Business Affairs, Stone Mountain Technologies, Inc.

2:30 p.m. *Break*

3:00 p.m. *Concurrent Sessions*

Offshore Wind: Where are We Headed and How Quickly?

Moderator: Hon. Carrie Gilbert, Commissioner, Maine Public Utilities Commission

Panelists:

- Carrie Hitt, Senior Director, Grid and Transmission Policy, Vineyard Offshore
- Hon. Elizabeth Mahony, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources
- Al McBride, Vice President of System Planning, ISO-New England
- Rebecca Ullman, Head of Stakeholders, Ocean Winds North America

Intervenor Funding: Valuing Participation and Addressing Concerns

Moderator: Hon. James M. (Jamie) Van Nostrand, Chair, Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities

Panelists:

- Hon. Philip L. Bartlett II, Chair, Maine Public Utilities Commission
- Mireille Bejjani, Co-Executive Director, Fix the Grid/Slingshot
- Seth Berry, Executive Director, Our Power
- Jolette Westbrook, Director and Senior Attorney, Energy Markets & Regulation, Environmental Defense Fund

4:30 p.m. *Ethics CLE session (optional)*

Claire Coleman, JD, Connecticut Consumer Counsel

5:45 p.m. *Pre-dinner Reception*

Sponsored by Retail Energy Supply Association, Robinson+Cole, LLP, and Americans for a Clean Energy Grid

7:00 p.m. *Dinner*

8:00 p.m. Dessert Reception

Sponsored by Edison Electric Institute

9:00 p.m. Evening Reception

Sponsored by New England Connectivity and Telecommunications Association

Tuesday, May 20

7:00 a.m. **Breakfast**

7:00 a.m. Concurrent Telecom Breakfast

Join Commissioners, staff, and telecommunications professionals in discussing telecommunications issues and developments.

8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Registration Desk Open

9:00 a.m. *Concurrent Sessions*

Innovations and Trends in Electric Vehicle Rate Design

Moderator: Hon. Riley Allen, Commissioner, Vermont Public Utility Commission

Panelists:

- **Peter Cappers,** Strategic Advisor: Energy Markets & Policy Department, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
- Josh Castonguay, Vice President, Chief Innovation Officer, Green Mountain Power
- Amber Dorner, EV Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Energy Policy Lead, General Motors
- Amanda Janaskie, Senior Manager, Baltimore Gas & Electric

Asset Condition and Right-Sizing Policies

Moderator: Hon. Philip L. Bartlett II, Chair, Maine Public Utilities Commission

Panelists:

- Hon. Kerrick Johnson, Commissioner, Vermont Department of Public Service
- Alan Trotta, Senior Director, Transmission Regulatory, Avangrid
- Claire Wayner, Senior Associate, Rocky Mountain Institute
- Additional panelists TBA

10:15 a.m. **Break**

Sponsored by American Petroleum Institute

10:45 a.m. *Concurrent Sessions*

Water Utilities and Cybersecurity Issues

Moderator: Hon. Abigail Anthony, Commissioner, Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission

Panelists:

- **Abad Cabassa,** Cybersecurity Advisor Connecticut, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
- Rob Powelson, President & CEO, National Association of Water Companies
- Hon. Robert R. Scott, Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
- Mark Vannoy, President, Maine Water

Signal Support: Dependable Connections when it Matters

Moderator: Hon. Karen Charles, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable

Panelists:

- Andrew Bagdonas, Communications and IT Manager, Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
- Michael Chowaniec, Vice President, State Government Affairs, Charter Communications
- Michael Gibeley, Director, Emergency Management, National Grid
- Additional panelists TBA

12:00 p.m. *Lunch*

1:15 p.m. *Plenary Session*

Announcement of the George Dunn Award for regulatory staff excellence Announcement of the 2026 NECPUC Symposium

1:30 p.m. Remarks: Hon. Ned Lamont, Governor, State of Connecticut (invited)

2:15 p.m. *Break*

Sponsored by Advanced Energy United

2:45 p.m. *Concurrent Sessions*

You'll Never Know if You Don't Try: Considering Innovative Technologies for Broader Use

Moderator: Hon. David A. Arconti, Jr., Commissioner, Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority

Panelists:

- Brett Feldman, Energy Efficiency Manager, Rhode Island Energy
- Sarah Jackson, Senior Policy Manager, Eastern Region, Form Energy
- Elisabeth Kalomeris, Innovation & Growth Manager, Piclo
- Matthew McDonnell, Managing Partner, Current Energy

New Ideas on Siting and Permitting Clean Energy

Moderator: Hon. Staci Rubin, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities

Panelists:

- Rachel Goldwasser, General Counsel and Executive Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Key Capture Energy
- **Zeryai Hagos**, Executive Director, New York Department of Public Service Office of Renewable Energy Siting and Electric Transmission
- **Theresa Hopkins-Staten,** President, Eversource Foundation and Vice President, Corporate Citizenship and Equity, Eversource Energy
- Mike Judge, Undersecretary of Energy, Massachusetts Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs

4:00 p.m. Symposium program concludes

Wednesday, May 21

7:00 a.m. **Breakfast**