NECPUC Background

Established in 1947 and incorporated in 1976, the New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners, Inc. (NECPUC) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation that provides regional regulatory assistance on matters of common concern to public utilities commissions of the six New England states. NECPUC has no independent regulatory authority. It addresses issues challenging the electricity, gas, telecommunications and water industries.

NECPUC’s board of directors is made up of public utilities commissioners from the six New England States. Commissioners from the Connecticut Public Utilities Regulatory Authority, the Maine Public Utilities Commission, the Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities, the Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable, the New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission, the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission, the Vermont Department of Public Service, and the Vermont Public Service Board are board members for the duration of their tenure. The presidency rotates among the six states on an annual basis.

NECPUC meets regularly throughout the year and sponsors an annual symposium on regulatory issues. The location of the annual symposium rotates according to a set schedule among  New Hampshire (2011), Maine (2012), Connecticut (2013), Vermont (2014), and Rhode Island (2015), and Massachusetts (2016).